@KOFIEMERITUS VISITS THE CITDEL OF AFRICAN TECH (KENYA) – SOCIAL ENTREPRENEURSHIP

I type this blog post while sitting in the Kenya Airways flight number KQ511 heading towards Nairobi, Kenya for a summer school with the Amani Institute on Social Entrepreneurship for two months, the time is 11: 52pm and this is a six hour flight. As this is my first international travel and first time to board the plane, it is very exciting and an experience I will not forget. The flight took off at about 8:50 pm, as I walked through the tunnels to the runway to board the plane things seem not to be real to me and wished someone would have slapped me to make me aware that am not dreaming. I thank God for this opportunity to Kenya, am glad I’m visiting an African country first before any other nations I will be visiting in the future during my first international travel. Before we made through the gate to board the plane, I met an Indian friend who told me how beautiful Kenya is and said the place is more beautiful and well-structured than Ghana. He told me of his views about Ghana:

  • He said that infrastructure is low in Ghana and that the government needs to spend more on infrastructure to ease traffic.
  • He also said that the capital city is choked with a lot of industries, he suggested that the industries should be spread across the major cities in Ghana to help decrease rural-urban migration.
  • He indicated that Ghanaians are very simple and easy to stay with.
  • His final comment was that, there are a lot of beggars in Ghana with cases where some beggars knock the windows to ask for money.

As the plane began to take off, I had a long chat with my lovely girlfriend whom am going to miss dearly, even when I was informed by the flight attendant to switch off my phone I was still talking to her. I really miss you sweedy (you know yourself).

DSC01980MY MISSION

I’m on my way to Kenya to be trained by the world renowned school The Amani Institute on how to be a social entrepreneur. I will be joined by other six outstanding youth from around the world to share learn, share ideas and implement what we will learn in our country. One of my goals for participating in this training is to help set up an African Youth Growth Foundation that will be able to provide the necessary financial support to youth from Africa to have access to foreign education, conferences and workshops they cannot afford to pay. We want to help put African youth on the global front. Money should not be a limitation to fulfilling one’s dream in Africa. We want to push the youth of Africa to see and learn from the other parts of the world. The training will be done by world class leaders from institutions like Harvard, Ashoka and many more.

 

STILL IN THE AIR

Kenya the land of technology as it has become in the 21st century, I will love to see all the change making startups in Kenya and the iHub. Still in the air as I type this post, the time is now 12am, distance left to cover is 1636km, am sitting between two sleeping passengers who have helped in making my flight a wonderful one. I still can see the smile on my mum’s face as she hugged me and wished me a safe trip, thank you mum for your awesome super support. Follow my blog for posts from Nairobi, Kenya and some opportunities I will be sharing as I come across them. I’m reading a book written by my elder Mr. Charles Kofi Fekpe titled “Doing Business With God”, thank you Sir for this book.   

DSC01990

DSC02000

APPRECIATION

I used this opportunity to thank God and everyone who has assisted me in making my first step to Global Leadership. Special thanks goes to my mum and the Barcamp Ghana crew, #morevim. 

6 thoughts on “@KOFIEMERITUS VISITS THE CITDEL OF AFRICAN TECH (KENYA) – SOCIAL ENTREPRENEURSHIP

Leave a Reply

